Skip to main content

Baker, Durgee students earn 2023 CNY Scholastic Art Awards

Durgee Junior High School students earned 2023
CNY Scholastic Art Awards.
January 13, 2023

Thirty-one C.W. Baker High School students and nine Durgee Junior High School students earned 2023 CNY Scholastic Art Awards.

Combined the students earned 60 Gold Key, Silver Key and Honorable Mentions in the Photography, Digital Art, Mixed Media, Ceramics & Glass, Film & Animation, Drawing & Illustration, and Painting.

The CNY Scholastic Art Awards, sponsored by M&T Bank, has conducted an annual Scholastic Art Awards program for more than 80 years. The CNY region covers a very large geographic area. Students from 14 counties and more than 90 junior and senior high schools around Central New York submitted artwork for consideration.
A special awards ceremony, to be held at SRC Arena on the OCC campus on Jan. 17, will feature Gold Key first-place selections for entry in national competition as well as for local awards, cash prizes and special recognition.

C.W. Baker High School winners: 


C.W. Baker High School

Gold Key:

Ellie Adams, Photography, "Brevity"
Tim Charbonneau, Painting, "Movin too fast...Always Near"
Jilian Kraebel, Photography, "Willow"
Angelee Overbey, Ceramics & Glass, "Sapphire Exposure"
Zach Pendergast, Photography, "Waterfall"
Molly Roche, Photography, "Oh, Christmas Tree!"
Benjamin Smith, Ceramics & Glass, "Poseidon's Platter"

Silver Key:

Ellie Adams, Photography (2); Lily Buyck, Drawing & Illustration and Photography; Sophia Cavalieri, Digital Art; Cameron Conger, Photography (2); Nina Grosso, Ceramics & Glass; Jilian Kraebel, Photography (3); Mallory Offredi, Ceramics & Glass; Olivia Panighetti, Painting; Zach Pendergast, Photography; Ruby Price, Film & Animation; Johan Savage, Photography; Benjamin Smith, Ceramics & Glass; Meredith Van Antwerp, Photography; Olivia Wafer, Drawing & Illustration.

Honorable mention:

Ellie Adams, Aiden DuBois, Jilian Kraebel, Grace Lee, Gabriella Locker, Bronwyn Madden (2), Natalie Marier, Lauren Millard (4), Leah Moran, Spencer Peeling (2), Ruby Price, Hannah Salvagni, Johan Savage (2), Callie Smith, Emily Stanard, Meredith Van Antwerp, Giovana Vazquez (2), Olivia Wafer, Jessica Witz.

Theodore R Durgee Junior High School

Silver Key:

Miqat Al Obaidi, Drawing & Illustration.

Honorable mention:

Logan Bolton, Megan DeMarco, Mya Huntington, Abigail Lesinski, Stella Mikhailova, Sage Premo, Quinn Rost, Lidia Widrick.