Skip to main content
district home
click for schooltool click for twitter click for facebook click for instagram Register click for Stop Bullying Lunch Menus

Superintendent's Office

Matthew J. McDonald                 
Superintendent of Schools
(315) 638-6043

29 East Oneida Street
Baldwinsville, NY  13027
(315) 638-6043

Schedule for Coffee & Conversation with the Superintendent of Schools

Superintendent Matthew McDonald
Superintendent Matthew J. McDonald


February 2018 

Dear District Residents,

Happy February!
When the wind is howling, the snow is falling, and the temperature is painfully low, I find that there is nothing better than walking into a school building that is warm, welcoming, and full of student success. I guess you could say it warms my heart to be in an environment where children are exploring and growing. Fortunately, I am a frequent visitor to our schools.
I visit our eight schools multiple times every month, and I am overwhelmed by how inviting our faculty, staff, and students are. No matter what the weather is like outside when I enter a school, I always leave with a smile. I attend many district events, such as athletic events, musicals, and scheduled meetings, but I most look forward to the informal, unscheduled visits to our schools. During these visits, I see smiling faces and feel a true passion for learning.
I especially enjoy visiting the kindergarten classrooms. I wish I could bottle the students’ enthusiasm and excitement! Speaking of kindergarten, in September, we will welcome the Class of 2031 to our five elementary schools. If you have a child who will turn five years old on or before December 1, 2018, you will want to register him or her for kindergarten for 2018-2019. Kindergarten open registration for the 2018–2019 school year will take place at the elementary schools on Thursday, March 15 from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. & 6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. You can find more information on kindergarten registration by clicking here.
To help our youngest students and their parents with the transition to school, we are once again offering our Get READY for Kindergarten program to children who will enter kindergarten in 2018. On three occasions, our future students will visit their future schools and meet their future teachers as well as participate in some fun instructional activities. Slowly introducing our youngest students to the classroom and to typical kindergarten activities helps to lessen any fears that they (and their parents) may have about starting school.
If you have been to any of our school playgrounds lately, you know that they are aging and some are in need of a little TLC. I am very happy to report that we will be replacing the elementary school playgrounds over the next three years. Thank you to Assemblyman William Magnarelli for securing a legislative grant of $125,000 for Baldwinsville and thank you to Senator John DeFrancisco for securing a grant of $55,000 for us so that we may begin the replacement process this year.
I have to give a plug for this year’s Baker High School Musical Players annual production. This year it is “Peter Pan.” The show will run on March 8, 9, & 10 at 7 p.m. On March 10, there will be a matinee at 1 p.m. in addition to the evening performance. We have so many talented students in B’ville and our school musicals are always top-notch!  You will not want to miss this classic, family-friendly show. Peter Pan and some of the other characters will be flying, thanks to the “magic” of a professional wire system. I cannot wait to see it! As of February 2, you can order your tickets by calling the box office at 315-638-6039.
Winter break is right around the corner, from February 19 to February 23. I know our students and staff are looking forward to this much-deserved vacation from the classroom. I wish everyone a relaxing and fun-filled break!
Stay warm!
Matthew J. McDonald
Superintendent of Schools
Last updated on 1/31/2018
District Departments Staff Resources Schools Parents & Students Community
Baldwinsville Central School District | 29 East Oneida Street | Baldwinsville, NY 13027 | Phone: 315.638.6043 report bullying
Developed by CNYRIC